She’s gone…

 

Sigh.  Hope you don’t mind if I cry a bit.

We lost one of our furbabies yesterday.

It was the grand old dame, Sheera.  She went off her wet food a few weeks ago and not even adding tuna helped.  Though she did keep eating her kibble, her tired little body needed more and the weight loss started.

Yesterday she had trouble keeping her balance and seemed to keep zoning out mentally.  One emergency trip to the vet and we came home with an empty kennel.

In memoriam:

Sheera (Missy Cat)

May 8, 1994 to June 30, 2014

Thank you, baby girl, for a wonderful 20 years.  We will miss you greatly.

All our love,

Mom and Dad Cat

8 thoughts on “She’s gone…

  1. Yep, that’s the way grief works. It truly sucks and unfortunately we have to go through the grieving process over and over and over, again, through out our lives. I can tell you truly loved her, as I do my dog. Just know I’m thinking about you and don’t ever feel bad or weird about feeling bad. Some people are quick to say stupid things like, it was just a dog, or get over it, already, and other stupid things. They don’t realize how much more that hurts our souls. You need to surround yourself with kind, caring people who’ve experienced your tragic loss. It’s painful and it’s normal to feel that way for as long as it takes for you. Everyone is different. You have the right mindset, I’ll live. One day at a time. That’s the best way to handle things, in my opinion. One day at a time. I’m constantly having to remind myself to live in the moment, one day at a time. Hang in there. Sending more HUGS and tons of sunshine. Hope you had a “decent” day. If you ever need to talk or vent, you know I’m always going to be here for you. don’t ever forget that.
    Peace and hugs,
    Wild Thang

    Like

    • This just made me tear up…in a good way. Thank you my friend. Thank you.

      It does help to talk to people who get it. None of my furry babies has ever been “just a cat” or “just a dog.” They have always been, and always will be, full fledged members of my family.

      And yes, I try very hard to avoid the people who don’t get it. Worse to me, are the ones who go out of their to tell you how little value they believe our animals have. I’m sure you’ve run into it many times yourself. All true animal lovers do. 😯

      Thank you again. For your friendship and your kindness. It truly means a lot to me. πŸ’ž I hope you know I feel the same towards you? And that the exact same offer is also extended to you?

      Sending back massive hugs. ☺😻

      Like

      • Oh, I didn’t mean to make you tear up. Sorry about that. I’m a crybaby, I cry about everything. I’m just like you, my animals are not animals to me, they are family members and I love them and it kills me when they’re gone. I then grieve, and then like an idiot, I go out and get me another one and fall in love all over again, knowing they have such a short life span, dogs anyway. I know cats live a lot longer than dogs. I have 4 kids and they’re all allergic to cats, so we have dogs. At the moment we only have one and she thinks she’s queen do dah and would never allow another animal in her territory, little alpha female. The other night I got up to go to the bathroom and Molly, my bichon dog, got herself all situated and comfy on my pillow, on my $100.00 tempurpedic piillow that is, on my tempurpedic bed. I crawled back into bed between the Mr. and the dog and let her stay there. I was just laying there looking at her and thought what is wrong with this picture? She’s treated like Royalty. The dog is on the 100.00 pillow, on the almost $4000.00 bed (we did get the floor model for 50% off, though), she loves to wear clothes. LOL she has dresses, hoodies, a coat, shirts LOL I know, but she absolutely loves it. She comes running the minute she sees the dress or shirt or whatever and eagerly sticks her head out and patiently waits to have it put on her.

        I ignore those idiots that don’t think our cats and dogs or whatever animal someone has, have any value. It’s really kind of sad because they’re the one’s missing out. Our animals love us back. When my brother’s only son was killed in a terrible car wreck at the age of 14, my mom went out and bought him a dog, a bichon, and let me tell you, he now has 2 and those dogs have been the best thing for him. They are like his kids. It always shocks me to hear someone say they would NEVER have a dog or cat. I can’t imagine life without them, myself. What really gets me is when they say, “well, you can always get another one.” yeah, you’re right I can, but the new one will never be a replacement for the one I lost. I have to grieve for however long it takes and then when I’m ready I go get another one. Their is NO REPLACEMENT! It shocks me that people don’t understand that. Oh well, their loss!

        I’m very sorry, I didn’t mean to write a book, I get to writing and just can’t stop sometimes.
        I thought about you again today, hoping that you’re doing okay. Sending more sunshine and massive bear hugs your way. Hope tomorrow is a little “better” than today.

        Next Wednesday I’m having surgery because I have to get a feeding tube implanted into my abdomen and may be M.I.A. for a few days, so if you don’t hear from me, just know I’ll be back as soon as I can. A few years ago, I had to have one and it, literally, almost killed me and I ended up in the hospital for 18 days. needless to say, I’m terrified. Hopefully, it’ll go better this time and I won’t get staph, abscess, and cellulitis.

        Peace and more hugs,
        Tammy:)
        too tired to proofread, so it just is what it is, hope it makes sense. πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Awe, don’t worry. They were good tears, not bad ones!

          I’m so very sorry about your nephew… I can’t even imagine what your brother has been through… Though I am very pleased to hear how much his canine kids are helping. It’s amazing the kind of love and joy they bring to out lives. πŸ’–πŸ’›πŸ’–

          Your dress-up puppy made me laugh. 😊 πŸ˜ƒ My mother used to dress her little dogs up but I can’t say they were ever happy about it. To me they always looked a bit annoyed. But maybe it was just her taste in clothes they didn’t like? Lol.

          Mom did teach our current lab to “get dressed” with her collar as a puppy. They did puppy daycare while we were at work. (Sniffle, I miss working!) Even now at 13 years old, if her collar falls off she picks it up and brings it to us. She doesn’t like being “naked!” Lol.

          Your little one sounds adorable!!! Sleeping on her $100 pillow…yup, I can certainly relate to that scenario. Ours have that kind of deprived lifestyle as well. Poor, unfortunate critters…πŸ˜‰!

          Your upcoming surgery: Damn! I’m so so sorry to hear that! I really hope this time goes way better than the last one.

          Never apologize for talking, er typing, too much. My username *is* WordsGOOD! I love words and love talking with you, so please, jabber to your hearts content! I don’t mind even a tiny bit! 😁 (Why yes, I do love exclamation marks. Also ellipses…so glad you noticed! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜„)

          And don’t worry about proofreading your comments either. I’m just proud of us both for being able to type full sentences out, given our circumstances.

          More hugs and return sunshine! 🌻 🌼 🌺 🌞 🌞 🌞 🌞

          Like

    • Thank you so much! That means a lot to me and is very much appreciated.

      We’ll miss her very much, but will always be grateful to have had her for so long. She was one tough little cookie! Now the battle is to keep the younger one (who is himself a bit elderly) from plucking himself bald. I woke up to a large mass of furballs today and found him with fresh bald patches. The weird part is he never really got along with her in life. 😟

      Like

      • Just wanted to let you know that I am thinking of you. Hope things get “better” for you real soon. Like I said before there really are no words that are going to make you not have that deep pain. I know it really sucks and is painful, but you do need to allow yourself to grieve and you take the time you need. Everyone is different. Hang in there, my friend. Sending you tons of HUGS and sunshine.
        Peace and hugs,
        Wild Thang aka Tammy πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Thank you, Tammy. Truly, thank you.

          The grief is coming out in fits and starts. I’ll be fine one, able to talk about her, but then little things will set me off. She spent the last five years of her life practically glued to me, so I instictively move to accomodate her, or reach down to pet her… It’s just so…odd. 20 years is a long time. It’s just weird not having her with me!

          But I’ll live. One day at a time. That’s all any of us can do.

          Thank you again. And more big hugs! β™‘β™‘β™‘

          Like

Leave a Reply

