Opinions. Everyone has One.

You know what they say about opinions right?

For the most part, I’m a huge believer in free speech and will defend anyone’s right to have their own opinions.

But you know what’s not alright?  Cramming YOUR opinion down other people’s throat.  Especially when you have no actual facts whatsoever to back up the ill-formed opinion you’re busy cramming down your target’s throat and regaling your loyal entourage with.

Lemme ‘splain,

From one standpoint, I am relieved to finally have a diagnosis.  But here’s the thing, I naively (apparently) thought that once I received it and let folks know, it would finally shut them up.  After all, how do you argue with scan results that show your brain closely resembles a slab of Swiss cheese?

And with not just one, but two neurologists who specialize in diagnosing and treating Multiple Sclerosis?

Well, apparently you can!

As it turns, I AM a lazy, whining, anti-social cow.  Or at least that’s what I’ve been told, repeatedly, by both portions of my family and that of my husband’s, acquaintances and even strangers.

Yes, leaving the workforce at the ripe old age of 32, was a well thought out career move.  Who needs a pension plan?  Eating cat food sounds in my golden years sounds like a great idea. Yummy!

I’ve had ever so much fun having my once busy work and personal life slowly shrink to almost nothing.  I love being in constant pain. I eat a bucket full of pills every day because I want to.  It’s a choice, really it is.

It’s been an absolute blast to watch my once spotless house transform into something you might see on an episode of Hoarders. I simply adore having to walk very slowly like a little old lady (at 44), eyes to ground, carefully scanning for stray pebbles or cracks in the concrete that might trip me up, resulting in yet another face plant or a cracked tail bone.  After all, who needs speed?  Don’t we all moan and whine about needing to slow down and smell the roses, so to speak?

Descending stairs without firm railings to hang onto?  No problem, sliding down them on my ass or back makes me feel like an Olympic athlete! Wheee…

And my absolute favourite thing of all?Having total strangers walk right up to me share their opinions with me!  And doing it loudly enough that the CSIS, the NSA or Paranoid Putin need not waste their resources trying to get intelligence on my latest nefarious plans.

Like I said, everyone has an opinion.

But if you’ve got any (more) opinions about me, my MS, or anything at all to do with my personal life – which includes my husband, our two daughters, and our pets – and it isn’t complimentary, then do me and the world, one small favour…KEEP THEM TO YOURSELF!

Go find yourself a life and stay out of everyone else’s business.

Leave a Reply

